History of the Aldaw Ta Kitanglad Celebration

Being one of the few relatively intact and pristine forest, the homeland of the indigenous peoples (IPs) and a major watershed area, Mt. Kitanglad range plays a vital role to the socio-economic development of the province of Bukidnon and the neighboring provinces. More so, to the indigenous peoples of whom from time immemorial have regarded the sacred mountain as their source of livelihood, medicine, food and cultural survival. The 47,270 hectares Kitanglad mountain range has become the habitat of the three tribes, namely: Higaonon, Talaandig, and Bukidnon. Due to in-migration and intermarriage, the population in Mt. Kitanglad has swelled. Migrants from lowland communities started finding its way and settled in the fringes of Mt. Kitanglad.

During the World Bank project implementation in Mt. Kitanglad, IPs have shown all-out support towards the attainment of biodiversity conservation and sustainable development of the protected area. In recognition to their valuable contributions and as homage to the sacred mountain's insurmountable role, the idea of coming up a yearly festivity was conceptualized in 1996 by then Sangguniang Panlalawigan member Tommy Labaon, former Regional Director of the National Commission on Indigenous People (NCIP) in Region 10.

The following year in 27-28 August 1997, hundreds of people coming from the seven (7) municipalities and one city throng to sitio Intavas, barangay La Fortuna, Impasugong, Bukidnon to celebrate the 1st Aldaw Ta Kitanglad. The two-day festivity was completely a success. For six consecutive years (1997-2002), the municipality of Impasugong hosted the yearly celebration.

In 2003, due to incessant rains that have been experienced in previous celebrations, which hampered most of its activities, PAMB passed Resolution No. 254 moving the celebration to November 7-9 and every year thereafter. The date coincided with the passage into law of RA 8978, also known as the Mt. Kitanglad Protected Area Act of 2000 on November 9, 2000.

Since then, the yearly festivity wheeled around Mt. Kitanglad's PAMB municipalities. After Impasugong in 1997 to 2002, the municipalities of Lantapan (2003), Sumilao (2004), Manolo Fortich (2005), Libona (2006), Baungon (2007), Talakag (2008), Malaybalay City (2009), and back to Impasugong (2010), Lantapan (2011), and Sumilao (2012) to again extend its resources to equal if not surpass the previous celebrations.

Other Links
Province of Bukidnon
City of Malaybalay
DENR Philippines
National Greening Program
ASEAN Centre
Eagle's nest at CFR Barangay Kaatu-an, Lantapan, Bukidnon. Video captured by Forester Edgar G. Agbayani.
Google Map

View Larger Map