Mt. Kitanglad Range Natural Park

The Kitanglad Range dominates the north-central portion of the Bukidnon Plateau in Region 10. It falls within the political jurisdiction of the seven (7) municipalities and one city, namely: Lantapan, Impasugong, Sumilao, Libona, Manolo Fortich, Baungon, Talakag and Malaybalay City. It covers a total land area of 47,270 hectares and plays a vital role in the socio-economic development of North and Central Mindanao.

  • Protected Area = 31,236 ha.

  • Buffer Zone = 16,034 ha.

Legal Initiatives:

  1. Cognizant of its importance, the Sangguniang Bayan of Sumilao initiated Mt. Kitanglad's proclamation as a national Park through Resolution No. 32, S. 1989. On December 14, 1990, it was established as a National Park by virtue of Presidential Proclamation No. 677.

  2. Presidential Proclamation No. 896 dated October 24, 1996, declared certain parcels of land of the public domain covering Mt. Kitanglad Range Natural Park and its peripheral areas as bufferzone.

  3. Republic Act 8978 otherwise known as Mt. Kitanglad Protected Area Act of 2000 declared Mt. Kitanglad as full pledged protected area.

Fund support from local government units after the World Bank (WB) project closure.

Bukidnon LGUs 2002-2012 (Php)
1. Prov'l Gov't of Bukidnon 14.0 M
2. SP Bukidnon (Vice Gov) 3.6 M
3. SP Bukidnon (Envi Comm) 0.48 M
4. Lantapan 1.75 M
5. Sumilao 1.25 M
6. Libona 1.50 M
7. Baungnon 0.822 M
8. Talakag 1.5244 M
9. Manolo Fortich 1.80 M
10. Impasugong 1.48 M
11. Malaybalay City 11.3914 M
Total 39.5978 M
Other Links
Province of Bukidnon
City of Malaybalay
DENR Philippines
National Greening Program
ASEAN Centre
Eagle's nest at CFR Barangay Kaatu-an, Lantapan, Bukidnon. Video captured by Forester Edgar G. Agbayani.
Google Map

View Larger Map